The 5’2″ Blues

collageofshortness

For years I’ve resented my height.

I can only remember the days when everybody, boys and girls, were the same size–when you needed to speak to someone and it wasn’t necessary to stretch your head up high to the point when God knows when it will snap off because your friends’ faces were perfectly aligned straight across from yours. But no, being the sophomore I am now, I walk the paths of school with people almost two heads taller than me, being reminded day by day, rewinding the words that my pediatrician said to me just two months ago, “You have stopped growing.” (Oh, joy.) And for those who are experiencing the same situation and are trying not to lose hope, don’t waste your birthday wishes on this. It won’t work for you will always and only ever be 5’2”.

BUT, it’s not that being 5’2” doesn’t have its perks. Of course there are times where you don’t appreciate sitting in the back of the class and you get tired of questioning if there really is a such thing as “perfect pants” that don’t roll down your legs to the floor like a long red carpet, but through it all, you realize that height is the least of your life problems. Besides…

You’ll never be too tall to fit a bed.

bed

People are inclined to help you.

bookshelf

You can shower/take a bath basically anywhere.

showerbath

You were probably in the front row of your class photo in school. In the front you will NEVER BE FORGOTTEN.

picture

You can get out from crowds easily.–Basically a superpower.

article-2188192-148A9B3D000005DC-176_634x286

You can lose calories trying to catch up to your tall, long legged friends. 

o-ABSOLUTELY-FABULOUS-570

And It’s easier to hem pants than to lengthen them! 

urkelpants

*Moral to it all: I want this year to be a new start to appreciating all my qualities instead of dreading every small and unimportant imperfection. I’m still learning to do that, but for now, I’m doing it step by step. So, 2015-I’M 5’2” AND I AM PROUD.

proud

Want more reasons to appreciate your height? Check out these links! It’ll only take a SMALL second! (..See what I did there?..Sorry, I’m a LITTLE bad at jokes..)

5 comments

  1. thechicagoman · January 19, 2015

    Haha, well Im really tall like 6 foot 1 but yes there are pros anc cons with height, nice post

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrstomjones · January 20, 2015

      I’m glad you like the post!
      And thanks for being the tall people that help the 5’2″s in the world like me haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kelseet · January 20, 2015

    I understand what you’re talking about. I’m 5″2″ and a quarter, not that the quarter makes a difference though. I liked the different benefits that you put for being short and the pictures that come with it. I never thought of the benefit of having people help me reach for items. Do you mean from the opposite gender? I think accepting your differences and your imperfections is an awesome goal that everyone should strive for. I think that your height doesn’t matter at all. Being yourself makes you the awesome person that I know that you are!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrstomjones · January 20, 2015

      Thank you! (I like to think I’m a quarter taller too. People don’t seem to accept the “5’2″ and a half or 5’2″ and a quarter..They say it doesn’t make a difference, BUT IT DOES IN MY HEART.)
      Anyways, I’m glad you can relate! And I’m referring to everyone who is taller than 5’2”. When I can’t reach for things, there’s always someone a couple inches taller than me to help whether they’re a guy or girl, so that’s helpful!
      And by the way, YOU’RE AN AWESOME PERSON AS WELL! 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  3. amanda · January 20, 2015

    This is a cute post! Being short really does have its perks! I’m glad that you’re short and proud 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

